Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which Linux Distro?

Administrator Supporting Member K7VZ's Avatar

Which Linux Distro?

I've been using Windows at home and work for a long time. About a year ago, I replaced the hard drive in my netbook and set it up to dual boot Windows 7 and Ubuntu 12. I've found myself using Ubuntu 99% of the time on the netbook. I recently started playing around with the Raspberry Pi and it runs a version of Debian (Raspbian). So, that has me looking at installing a flavor of Linux on my workstation at home. I don't really love the Ubuntu desktop and was considering Kubuntu, Debian, or Mint. What does everyone else use or recommend? Anything particularly good for ham radio use or software?
    Virgil - K7VZ
    Offroad and on the air.

4x4 Ham Member Supporting Member
    Take a look at Fedora (fedoraproject.org). It has a lot of amateur radio support, like:
    http://docs.fedoraproject.org/en-US/...uide/index.htm
    and
    https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Amate...s/AmateurRadio
    Many of the ham related apps are available in the fedora repository and can be installed with a simple "yum install package_name"
    I would recommend staying away from the gnome desktop. I'm not a big fan. Go with the KDE spin or one of the other alternatives:
    http://fedoraproject.org/en/get-fedora-options#desktops
    Also, and this is true for both Ubuntu and Fedora, you can install and run alternative desktops. Usually there is an option on the log in screen to select between installed desktops. Sometimes you need to run a desktop switcher.
    Also, most well supported distros have a "Live CD" that will let you boot and run from the CD, no installation required. This is a quick way to test drive a new distro.
    The one downside of Fedora is it is a development distro so you are constantly installing patches and upgrading to keep it current.